Lightford named to education transition committee

lightford 082418CHICAGO- Assistant Majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford (D-Maywood) was named to the education transition committee for governor-elect JB Pritzker during a news conference held at Genevieve Melody STEM Elementary in Chicago.

The 35-member Educational Success Committee is the seventh of several working groups of the transition made up of experts who will advise the new administration.


“Educating our children is the most important function of government. What our children will accomplish and how much of their potential will come to fruition starts right in our classrooms. I am excited to continue my work as a strong advocate for education, and play a role in how this administration plans to tackle the issues facing our education system,” Lightford said.

Among those named to the committee were Dr. Janice Jackson, CEO of Chicago Public Schools; Dr. Michael Amiridis, Chancellor, University of Illinois at Chicago; Ginger Ostro, Executive Director, Advance Illinois; Kevin O'Mara, Professor, Concordia University; Juan Salgado, Chancellor, City Colleges of Chicago; Mimi Rodman, Executive Director, Stand for Children Illinois; teachers’ union leaders; university administrators; state lawmakers; members of child advocacy organizations; and others.

Sen. Lightford

Majority Leader Kimberly A. Lightford

Senate Majority Leader
4th District

Years served: 1998 - Present (Senate) 

Committee assignments: Assignments (Chairperson); Education; Energy and Public Utilities; Executive Appointments; Executive; Oversight Medicaid Mang. Care, Spec; Supplier Diversity, Special Com. On; Subcommittee on Gov. Operations (Sub-Chairperson); Subcommittee on Charter Schools (Sub-Chairperson).

Biography: B.A. in Communications, Western Illinois University; M.A. in Public Administration, University of Illinois Springfield; former Village of Maywood trustee; former employee at Secretary of State, Department of Corrections and Central Management Services; longtime champion in the Senate for education, working families and women's issues; lives in Maywood with her family.

Associated Representatives:
La Shawn K. Ford
Emanuel Chris Welch