Stock three students holding diplomas 4 27


SPRINGFIELD – State Senator Laura Ellman (D-Naperville) recently honored 959 Naperville-area high school students who were named 2021-22 Illinois State Scholars by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in approximately the top 10% of the state’s high school seniors from 676 high schools in all 102 counties. Selection is based on a combination of standardized test scores and class rank or unweighted GPA at the end of the student’s junior year. ISAC works in conjunction with the students’ high school guidance counselors to determine the winners.

“It’s no secret the last two school years have been tough,” Ellman said. “That is why I’m so proud of these students for earning this award. Not only did the students perform admirably, but they did it during a once-in-a-lifetime pandemic. I want to recognize their support systems as well. The school staffs across the district have done an exceptional job.” 

The scholars from the Naperville area include students from nine area high schools, including Benet Academy, Lisle, Naperville Central, Naperville Christian, Naperville North, Neuqua Valley, St. Francis, Wheaton North and Wheaton Warrenville South high schools.

Recipients of the award will receive a congratulatory letter from ISAC, and a Certificate of Achievement will be sent to their high school. State Scholars will also receive a digital badge issued by ISAC that can be displayed on online profiles, exhibited on social media, and shared with prospective colleges and employers.

“I hope these students will use these awards to their benefit during the college admissions process,” Ellman said. “After the last two years, they deserve all the recognition they can get.”

More information about the State Scholar program can be found at ISAC’s website.