Johnson Glowiak collageSPRINGFIELD – On Tuesday, members of the Illinois Senate Democratic Caucus attended the 31st annual Illinois Fallen Firefighter Memorial ceremony at the Bank of Springfield Center in Springfield.

“Today, we are reminded of our fearless firefighters in our community who protect us every day,” said State Senator Glowiak Hilton (D-Western Springs). “As we honor their memory, let us continue our support for those who serve on the front lines, protecting us from harm.”

The Illinois Firefighter Memorial honors the courageous firefighters of Illinois who have valiantly given their lives in the line of duty, as well as those who continue to serve with courage, pride and honor. The ceremony also gives families of fallen firefighters the Line of Duty Death Award in recognition of their loved ones’ bravery and resilience.

“We must always acknowledge and honor fallen firefighters who have given the ultimate sacrifice protecting their community,” said State Senator Adriane Johnson (D- Buffalo Grove). “Not only do we honor the bravery and dedication they showed in the line of duty, but we continue to ensure their sacrifice is not forgotten as we stand with their families in their time of grief.”

Firefighters from across the state traveled to Springfield, uniting in solidarity to honor and remember their fallen colleagues. Their presence showcased the bond shared by members of the firefighting community and their commitment to preserving the memory of those who have gone before them.

The ceremony was followed by the Medal of Honor Ceremony, awarding eight Illinois firefighters with the highest award given by the state for those demonstrating an act of outstanding bravery or heroism.